You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Whether or not someone achieves their aims is mostly by a question of luck. To what extent do you agree or not agree? You should write at least 250 words.

It is argued that an individual’s probability of grasping his or her goals is determined by his or her luck. This essay disagrees with this statement, as there are other factors at play regarding this matter. Achieving success is determined by one’s skill and determination. Not just that, those who reached their final goals just by pure luck would not be able to maintain their success.

The chances of being a successful individual in any sector require complete dedication and capability. In today’s society, constant competition is apparent, as it is common knowledge that individuals strive to aim for their goals. A wise person would be determined to hone a valuable skill that has significant relevance to his or her passion. A recent survey concludes that in Singapore, 87% of university students are able to graduate and work at a job of their interest through commitment, dedication, and their degree.

Logically, those who could easily accomplish their dreams purely by chance do not possess the same qualities as those who worked hard for where they are standing now. Individuals with insufficient skill could not afford to keep their standing stable. This means that, generally, they could not hold a proper position in a working environment. Studies concluded that almost 225,800 people fell victim to the 2021 mass layoffs in Indonesia due to COVID-19. It is stated that 76% of this population had certain qualities: lack of perseverance, incomplete education, and poor skills.

In conclusion, it is not wise to say that those with inadequate skill and just pure chance could compare to and achieve the same lengths of success as those dedicating their lives to working hard for it.