You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Whether or not someone achieves their aims is mostly by a question of luck. To what extent do you agree or not agree? You should write at least 250 words.

It is argued that an individual’s probability of grasping their goals is decided by their luck. This essay disagrees with this statement, as there are factors at play regarding this matter. Achieving success is decided by one’s skill and determination. Not just that, those who reached their final goal just by pure luck would not be able to maintain their success.

The chances of being a successful individual in any sector would require complete dedication and capability. In today’s society, constant competition is apparent, as it is common knowledge that individuals strive to aim for their goals. A wise person would be determined to hone a valuable skill, that with significant relevance to their passion. A recent survey concludes that in Singapore, 87% of university students are able to graduate and work at a job of their interest by commitment, dedication, and their degree.

Logically, those who could easily accomplish their dreams purely by chance do not possess the same qualities than with those who worked hard for where they are standing now. Individuals with insufficient skill could not afford to keep their standing stable. This means that generally, they could not hold a proper position at a working environment. Study concluded that almost 225.800 people fall victim to the 2021 mass layoffs in Indonesia due to COVID-19. It is stated that 76% of this population are of those with certain qualities: lack of perserverance, incomplete education, and poor skills.

In conclusion, it is not wise to say that those with inadequate skill and just pure chance could compare and achieve the same lengths of success than with those dedicating their lives working hard for it.