You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A significant number of countries are reporting increasing levels of people suffering from stress. Stress is the body’s response to internal and/ or external environments.

This sort of response can be caused by many factors and is highly dependent on the situation of a person. A leading cause of stress amongst people nowadays is job hunting and unemployment. People, especially fresh graduates, are constantly on the hunt for high-paying jobs that will strengthen their careers. But due to global unemployment, good jobs are rare, and high-paying ones are even rarer. This leads to feeling unsuccessful and demotivated. Another factor that causes stress is money. Having too little of it causes people to overthink and get anxious about how they will finance their daily life, from managing their groceries and paying bills to funding education. These, however, are big and obvious reasons for stress to occur.

Sometimes, even the smallest situations can stress a person out. For example, take an introvert – he/she get stressed out in any social situation. Similarly, students are always stressed about grades and how they will perform. Additionally, health itself can be a huge contributor to stress, for the person themselves and the people surrounding them. Take a cancer patient as an example – the patient always has a looming fear that their life may end at any time. This causes stress, which leads to further health deterioration.

Though there is no permanent solution to stress, it can be managed. This can be done in several ways. A great way to manage stress and negative emotions is therapy, where they show you ways to manage stress through certain activities that one can do when they feel anxious. Therapists also encourage talking to a good friend or a trusted family member, as sharing the problem makes it feel smaller and makes it feel solvable. Other ways to deal with stress are through medicine prescribed by certified professionals.

Stress is part of our daily life and needs to be managed effectively; otherwise, it can seriously hinder the quality of our lives. The best way to go about it is to seek therapy, talk to a friend, or even do something as simple as taking a walk to take your mind off things. In more extreme situations, medicines and professionals should be sought out.