You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is anticipated that the form of transportation will be transformed in the future so that all vehicles, such as cars, buses, and so on can enjoy automatic features, which means the need for human drivers is eliminated. Accordingly, there will be only commuters in such vehicles. I believe that this technology is accompanied by both advantages and disadvantages, and I will elaborate on them in the following.

On the one hand, many people around the world will be delighted if they witness modern means of transportation, such as driverless vehicles, come into their lives. By doing so, a sense of satisfaction can be enhanced in individuals on account of the fact that they feel the standards of their lives are improved. To clarify this, a driverless car affords convenience for citizens, especially those who are disables, since they do not have to steer their cars by themselves, and as a result, they can just relax and rest during their travelling time. Furthermore, the number of road accidents, which widely stem from human errors, such as ignoring signs or tiredness, may be remarkably reduced thanks to automatic vehicles.

On the other hand, the only negative consequence is that artificial intelligence (AI) has not been infallible and fully reliable since the emergence of it. For instance, any electronic device that employ AI might be hacked and the principal program of it might be distorted. In this case, the chance of experiencing a catastrophic incident is escalated if vehicles are equipped with such a technology. Moreover, what will happen if one of the car’s sensors, which is serving to detect obstacles in the road, fails? Consequently, it may not be wise to completely rely on AI.

In conclusion, I cannot express with confidence that the benefits of driverless vehicles outweigh their drawbacks owing to the fact that while they are capable of facilitating transportation and also diminishing human errors, we cannot trust them without being worried.