You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. write about the following topic: Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Smartphones have become one of the most essential items in our daily lives. Our world is so engrossed into smartphones that we forget how much time our children spent on them. I think children get this unrestricted access to smartphones due to the sheer negligence by their parents and surrounding peer pressure and this turns to be bad for them because it results in bad social development and does harm to their mental and physical health.

Children turn to smartphones when they don’t get enough attention from their parents. In middle of their busy work lives, parents forget to spend enough time with their children. A 5 year old kid who is learning about the world from his parents will notice how much time his parents spend on their smartphones. Thus when his parents are not around, he will imitate to do so. Another reason could be peer pressure they face in schools. Peer approval matters most to teenagers and therefore they wil spend a lot of time in social media apps to get attention from their friends.

This has caused a lot of damage to our children. One of the main damage is the lack of social development. Children spend most of their time on phones and don’t physically interact and connect with other people often. As a result they lack in controlling their emotions and don’t develop social confidence when affects them deeply in their later stages of life. Besides this, overuse of smartphones have negatively affected our childrens’ physical and mental health. They avoid playing outside with their friends and end up being obese by the end of their teens. Besides social media apps often tend to be a platform of uncensored bullying. If any kid gets caught up in this, then they face a lot of mental health probelms.

Overall we saw that the main reason children overuse their smartphones is due to the negligence by their parents and the peer pressure they face in schools. This turns out to be bad for them as they dont develop socially and have bad physical and mental health