You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In order to solve traffic problems, Vietnamese government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. You should write at least 250 words.

In today’s modern life, there has been a growing trend toward solving traffic problems in the world. While there are some benefits to this, the government should also consider some unexpected drawbacks involved.

On the one hand, it is seemingly comprehensible why some advocate the idea that solving traffic problems has a considerable bearing on the country. One of the primary benefits of this is that with the high tax rate, the number of car owners will decrease. As a result, people would commute faster to work, effective work and air pollution will be reduced. Besides, the tax funds collected could be used to improve and manage public transportation, as a lot of people will change modes of transportation from private car owners to public transportation.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned merits, I am convinced that this tendency to invention has an adverse impact on the country in numerous ways. The first negative point is that many people live in areas that do not have public transportation, such as those who live in rural areas or the countryside. If there are buses or trains pass through it, the schedule can only once or twice in a day. An added disadvantage point is that the demand for motor vehicles decreases because of the high tax, the automobile will reduce employment number. As the result, country’s unemployment rates would be high.

In conclusion, while the invention of tax private car owners heavily are not without certain merits, I would contend that its demerits should be also taken in consideration.