You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In order to solve traffic problems, Vietnamese government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. You should write at least 250 words.

One of the possible approaches to tackle traffic issues in Viet Nam is to impose higher taxes on the use of private cars and invest a more substantial budget into the upgradation of public transport. This essay will analyze the positive and negative outcomes of this strategy.

There are several notable advantages of imposing a heavier tax on car ownership and encouraging the popularity of public transportation. First, this contributes to alleviating traffic congestion which is usually attributed to the large number of cars. Specifically, the surge in urban population results in an increasing demand for private vehicles, which places considerable pressure on the main routes and crowding intersections. Owing to high passenger density, a bus or a train can accommodate over tenfold the commuter volume of a typical car, making public transport a viable solution to chaotic bottlenecks, particularly during peak hours in densely populated urban areas. Furthermore, this policy plays a pivotal role in diminishing the amount of carbon emission and ecological footprint. Exhaust fumes and other pollutants from private means of transport are the significant contributors to degraded air quality. For instance, private cars are the primary sources of air pollution in China, the world’s most populated country.

Although this approach seems effective, it also raises concerns that should not be overlooked. One potential struggle faced by the government is the wide public disapproval and resistance. To the majority of commuters, cars are the most favourable mode of transportation owing to the flexibility, autonomy and sense of privacy associated with the driving experience. Car owners are spared from the exposure to strangers, inconsistent timetables and sense of invasion regularly linked to the public transportation system. Therefore, their dissatisfaction and disagreement towards the policy may make it challenging to come into fruition. Another major drawback is the negative economic impact, particularly in regions heavily dependent on the automotive industry. High tax on private vehicles may possibly result in the decline in sales demand, accumulating the growing unemployment in fields such as mechanics, sales representatives or garage stores.

In conclusion, the heavy tax enforcement on private car ownership, together with the investment in public transit, may bring successful outcomes in mitigating traffic congestion and improving air quality. However, citizens’ objections and unexpected economic decline should also be thoroughly considered.