You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, some people believe that students in universities should be educated in a way which they want to choose and study subjects they are interested in. At the same time, there is an opposite position of people who think that students can study only useful subjects which can assist them in the future. Personally, I partially agree with both opinions as it is important to study various spheres and do not exclude other subjects which can attract students .

The first group consider that students wishes are a priority and it is better to choose subjects themselves because they will have more motivation to study in general. Additionally, sometimes students understand their needs better than people who make up a university program so their efficiency can be way higher. For instance, my fellow friend who studied in a private university had an opportunity to make a schedule of subjects which they find valuable, and it was a key reason why he liked studying there and he had a good academic performance.

Another group of people suppose that students should only be allowed to study subjects that could be useful in their future. It means that they will not have an opportunity to choose any subjects, however they will learn only those related to science and technology which will make a great contribution to their future. To illustrate, in most universities which are oriented towards studying exact specializations with particular range of subjects there is a bigger percentage of students who excel in employment after graduation from university.

In conclusion, both opinions of studying have a right to exist as, on the one hand, students should have an opportunity to choose what they want to study and, on the other hand, precise structure of studying also plays a key role during the process of education and will be beneficial in the future lives of students. As for me, I consider that none of the opinions is fully right and it is more advantageous to take the best from these two options to make a educational process more exciting and informative.