You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. Write about the following topic: Exposure to international media, such as films, TV and magazines, has an impact on the local culture. What do you think of these impacts? Do you think that the advantages of these impacts outweigh the disadvantages?

The foreign broadcasting industry has penetrated it’s way in the daily lives of the indigenious. The locals are positively as well as negatively affected by these media, as a consequence, it has reshaped one’s life. The benefit being exposed to new technological advancements, is underweighed by the disadvantage of one’s culture being lost.

Watching videos or reading blogs of international communities, creates a long lasting impact on one’s mind, as the writers have woven the stories so intricately and deeply that one may think they are related to it. As a result, the person unknowingly, starts to apply these in their daily life and is observed by their family or friends, a shift in their walk and talk. For example, a teenager watching the movie Mission Impossible, starts thinking they are a spy and will start behaving in a similar manner, observing details, jumping on cars,etc.

The positive impact is reflected as a means of the education received from certain TV shows or films, mainly focusing on technical advancements in the current and future era. The movie interstellar has shown the world the capacity of new tech devices, resulting in finding of new life on planets.

On the other hand, the negative results are also reflected in one’s behaviour, when they start switching their benhiour to align the one’s they watched. .When a person watches or reads about things differing from their culture, their interest is highly piqued. They explore these topics deeply and often implement them, without understanding the consequences and it results in major shift in their primary behaviour. The change of clothing from Saree to jeans, choice of music from sitar tunes to rock, etc. are examples of change in the Indian mindset after watching British series.

In conclusion to the above points, I opnionate that, the negative impacts outweighs the positive one, as the roots of one’s life are slowly being altered, resulting in slowly losing the essensce of culture.