You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some university students want to put all their efforts into studying for a qualification, while others believe it is more important to learn new subjects alongside their main subjects. Although focusing solely on curriculum subjects can lead to securing good marks, I believe that learning new subjects offers wider knowledge and creates more opportunities.

Firstly, paying all attention to studying for a qualification will allow students to secure high marks in the university. The reason is they allocate more time to a single area, leading to a focused understanding of the subjects. For example, my friend, who is a student at my university, always focuses only on curriculum subjects, so he was a topper in our stream.

Secondly, studying extra subjects in addition to curriculum subjects will enhance students’ knowledge and create wider opportunities for employment. The reason is they are equally allocating time to many skills, which provides a deeper understanding and mastery in many fields. To illustrate, I’m a student with an electrical background, but I always explore computer science because of the impact it has around the world. The continuous learning and completing hands-on projects helped me to secure a job in a well-reputed company.

Finally, to conclude, although paying more attention to the subjects in the curriculum will help students achieve high marks, I believe that learning additional skills will boost their knowledge and create more opportunities in various fields. Therefore, I prioritize learning other subjects in addition to the main subjects over giving all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.