You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Examine the arguments in favour of and against animal experiments, and come to a conclusion on this issue. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, the argument of animal experiments and whether this is really necessary for scientific research is become an important object of debact. Some people think that is a cruel practice on undefended organisms such as miece but it could be dangerous for human health using a particular substance without testing it before in lab.

First of all, animal experiments are really necessary for numerous reasons, in particular for human health. When we produce a new pharmac or vaccine for example, it is needed to test it on biologically similar organisms before, called also “model organisms”. In this way, scientists are able to verify the effects of the chemical substances inserted and study a way to improve them if the experiment fails. Scientific research is a path of trials and fails, so it is impossible and nosense using something without test it before. On the other hand, seeing what substances could do on animals might be seen as a cruel practice, in which a organism is equal to an object without any possibility to choose for its life. But in scientific research, a living animal is used only when it is really necessary, after a long series of studies. For instance, scientists usually use bacteria colonies or yeast before testing a substance on a model organism such as mouse and there are numerous international regulamentation on this practice, too.

In conclusion, animal experiments are necessary and usefull to test a new product before using it directly on human, even if some people can’t accept this practice.