You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

In recent times, it is commonly, widely, and generally believed that the merits of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its demerits. From my perspective, I completely agree with this point of view.

First and foremost, people should recognizes the fact that English have become the main language of international communications. There is no denying that having the same language helps country do business, work together peacefully, and share scientific knowledges. It is obvious that if we speak English well, we have more chance to get a good education and find a good job anywhere. For instance, many universities offer course taught in the English language, and large international companies usually expect their employee to be good at English.

A reason why I disagree with this statement is that while English has numerous benefits, it also poses certain challenges. When English becomes the main language, it can cause other languages to die out. This is a problem because languages help us understand different cultures and histories. A good case in point would be the decline of native languages in many parts of the world due to the globalization of English.

In conclusion, it is reasonable to conclude that the advantages of English as a global language outweigh its disadvantages. However, it is crucial to encourage people to speak different languages and save old ones to balance out the use of English.