You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give death penalty. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many people select their friends based on similar opinions. Meanwhile, others think it is better to have different ideas. In my opinion, one needs both of these types of friends, depending on his or her mood and situation. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and provide my opinion.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why it is good to have friends that share the same interests. Firstly, similar feelings or thoughts can be discussed among these friends. Maybe one feels uncertain or needs help, they can seek advice and help from each other. For example, if your work or studies are related, and you have a problem with a project, you can turn to your friends for assistance. Furthermore, if your beliefs on social life match, there will be no unnecessary arguments or judgments from one individual to another. For instance, if a person is struggling mentally they will be able to talk about the issue without being criticised. Additionally, you will have many more activities to participate in without losing interest. Therefore it is beneficial to have these types of friendships.

On the other hand, there are also disadvantages to sharing the same thoughts. To begin with, it can be helpful to select friends that have different views because you can develop yourself in different societies as well as understand different lifestyles. This will help you make better decisions in unfamiliar situations. Also, if the need arises when you need help with a topic outside your comfort zone or career you can talk about the problem, feeling confident and comfortable. Due to the fact that you have a good relationship with the person. Moreover, having friends that we disagree with can help us to discover and correct our own mistakes, weaknesses and areas for improvement. Lastly, when you have friends with different ideas it can broaden your knowledge and enhance your overall viewpoint.

In conclusion, it is good to have a friend who has the same ideas, as it results in a long-term relationship and it is easy to get along with them. However, having friends with different opinions can be useful because you will recognise your mistakes as well as you will develop yourself. Whereas I believe it can be that one needs both types of that kind friends, and it depends on the individual’s mood and situation.