You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give death penalty. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is much debate about whether old buildings and housing should be replaced with modern buildings. In my opinion, both of these statements have relevant justifications and this is discussed in detail in this essay.

On one hand, preserving old buildings helps you protect the history and culture of the city they belong to. The reason is that as we move on with time, we lose our connection with our heritage due to our work, school, and building are the one way of reminding us of our roots including the history behind the structure. For example, an old well in my city was used by soldiers to hide during war times and is still in use as a remembrance of the life who bought it for us. Hence, protecting our buildings is one of the key steps taken to preserve our heritage.

On the other hand, replacing old structures with modern buildings is also essential, This is particularly due to the depreciation of the buildings and the materials used to make them. A research study by the University of Texas states that around seventy percent of buildings that are above fifteen years old have a high risk of collapsing during natural calamities. A notable example is the Kutch state building that collapsed due to its weak stage leading to a death toll of more than twenty people. This accident was a reminder for us that timely maintenance and substitution of old buildings is external for the well-being and safety of humankind.

To conclude, protecting and replacing old buildings are esstenial in one way or the other. But in my opinion, building modern building outweighs the later. The concern of safety is above everything and should be the first priority in any case.