You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Frequent labour alteration become commonplace in today’s workplace. It is certainly true that people nowadays are reluctant to working for the same company until retire. I believe that such phenomenon may be somehow related to poor job satisfaction, excessive workload and career prospect’s concern, companies can reserve their staff through various initiatives.

There are several reasons compelling young staff to leave their vacancies. Firstly, they may not gain sufficient job satisfaction from their offices. Superiors nowadays, especially for those in Asian workplace, may be too accustomed to blaming on the junior members of staff once minor error is made on the proposal. Some of them may even leave their personal emotion on juniors, and claimed that “Fee for being humiliated is included among your salaries”. Under continuous emotional damages and disrespect, workers may be overwhelmed, thus quitting the job. Secondly, working overtime has grown as a phenomenon in major cities like Hong Kong. Bosses often distribute too much tasks to employees, requiring them to fulfil them within a short-period of time. Officers may feel depressed to work in a tensed environment and thereby they resigned. Finally, staff may often face the hindrance to attain a higher position within their first job, therefore, they switch to work for another company to achieve a better career prospects.

Companies can set rules and cameras to surveil the senior employees’ tone of speech when speaking towards the juniors and reduce the workload for workers. At the same time, they should encourage the superiors to be more caring to their subordinates, praising them regularly. Meanwhile, they should adjust the systems on promotion, making it no longer seniority prioritized, but excellent performance.

In conclusion, there are a variety of factors leading to high liquidity of labour, companies can take few steps to keep their skilful employees to stay longer.