You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? You should write at least 250 words.

Social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter have grown in popularity in recent years, which are replacing face-to-face communication. To a certain extent, this essay believes that the benefits of technology would prevail over the drawbacks in the long term.

On the one hand, the potential advantage of technology is that it is a middle ground of global connectivity. To be specific, social media allows people to connect with friends, family, and colleagues around the world, fostering global relationships and breaking down geographical barriers. For instance, Instagram or Threads, which the younger generation uses to not only share memorable moments but also keep in touch with important relationships, are more and more common with the younger generation. Furthermore, an additional benefit of social media would be it is convenient and effective. To be clarity, Online communication is instant, enabling quick and efficient interactions. This is particularly beneficial for work-related matters and urgent communication which need a sustained device to connect fast. For example, in the past, it took several days for people to send letters if there was something important that needed urgent notice because the geographical distance was far; however, in recent years, it only takes a few seconds to send notifications through social platforms. As a result, technology has some noteworthy positive effects namely worldwide connectivity and timesaving.

On the one hand, a downside of social flatform possibly lies in health problems. The fact is that excessive use of social media has been linked to mental health issues such as anxiety and depression, as individuals may experience pressure to present an idealized version of their lives online. A strong evidence of this situation is that a large number of young people suffer from psychological diseases due to using social media networks too much every year in Vietnam. Therefore, prolonged technology usage has negative effects on users including sleep disorders.

In conclusion, while online communication has a negative influence on users’ health, it also creates international and convenient connections. However, users should use for the right purpose and for a reasonable amount of time.