You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away? You should write at least 250 words.

In today’s world, people often throw away unconsumed food that was purchased from restaurants and shops like bakery or supermarket. This essay will discuss the reasons why people have such behaviour. In addition, I will propose potential solutions to reduce food waste.

In the 21st century, people are influenced by the social media content like YouTube, Instagram or TikTok. A few years ago, Korea started a food culture- Mukbang (binge eating show), and it is becoming popular worldwide. As a result, it makes people start purchasing large amount of food but most of the people are not able to consume all. This causes people start throwing food away. Additionally, the food industry is getting more competitive especially the fast-food chains. Companies like McDonald’s and KFC lower their prices to attract consumers. Consequently, people tend to buy more than what they need.

Firstly, food waste issue can be solved by increasing the taxes. By increasing the food taxes, people will be more rational before purchasing in shops or restaurants. Secondly, young children should receive education in school on the importance of food and why we should not waste food resources. It’s crucial to start raising the awareness in school as it is a conducive environment to do so. Furthermore, we should let young students to grow plants and fruits in school. Therefore, they will be more appreciate of the food resources.

To sum up, the food waste culture is mainly influenced by the internet. Therefore, regulations should be enforced by governments to filter the online information. Additionally, by increasing the food taxes and providing education in schools could potentially reduce food waste.