You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems. Write at least 250 words. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

Nowadays, the population of urban areas has increased to the point where it causes overpopulation. This issue leads to several negative impacts for the environment that must be resolved, both by the government and the society itself.

One of the problems that caused by overpopulation in the cities is traffic jams. As a lot of people start to move to the cities, the number of personal vehicles that used daily also increased. This issue leads into traffic jam, especially during peak hours where people go home from work and school together. At the same time, this problem also causes pollution because the large number of vehicles contribute a huge amount of CO2 for global warming, which is dangerous if this condition continues for long period of time.

To solve this problem, both the government and the citizens should actively work together. For the government, they should establish a regulation where large vehicles such as trucks and containers restricted to enter the city at peak hours to avoid traffic jams. If the police catch any of the large vehicles operating during peak hours, they must stop and fine those vehicles. Furthermore, the government must expand the public transportation routes, so everyone can easily access it anywhere in the city. As for the citizen, they can help to solve this issues by using public transportation to reduce traffic jam and choosing other eco-friendly alternatives like biking and electric vehicles to minimize the amount of pollution that is released.

In conclusion, the overpopulation of urban areas already cause some problems that impacts the environment and the society itself. However, this issues can be resolved with the help of the government and the citizens by establishing a regulation and using other alternative solutions. This action can change the city to be more organized with less polution.