You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, most of the blockbuster movies we see are coming from the Hollywood. Many people from outside of the United States feel their own country’s film industry is falling behind and vouch for more financial support for native filmmakers. While I believe that monetary incentives are important part of improving any field, pouring people’s money for the sake of competing with the United States is not a good idea, and we can protect our culture by other means.

Goverment should only be mandated to provide money for solving important problems, everything else should be a matter of public voting. This approach gives citizens who do not enjoy movies or feel that their culture can be aided in a different fashion the power to influence on what their taxes are spent. In my country, nurses, firefighters, and teachers have much lower salaries than they, in my opinion, deserve. Instead of supporting new movies at all cost, I would like politicians to reward those essential workers more often and increase their salaries.

Moreover, movies are not the only way to protect and enhance ones culture. Traditions, music, fashion, literature — those are all equally important parts of the nation’s cultural heritage. One might argue, that if the goverment financially supports the filmmaking, it should give an equal amount to all other involved areas. I reckon that this would put an immense strain on the national budget and hinders help in other places. Instead, I would like to see more support to local venues, where people gather and celebrate together,

Overall, I strongly disagree with the presented statement. In my opinion, it is important to work with the taxpayers money carefully and address issues that have clear benefit for the majority of residents. While movies are welcomed leisure activity, they are not the cornerstone of our culture.