You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The global film industry is deeply influenced by the US film industry. Due to that fact, governments decided to revive their industries by investing money in them. This essay trusts that every little reality should be protected and enhanced, so they can continue to spread their culture among different ones. On the other hand, the influence of the main subjects in the film industry cannot be stopped by anything but users: they decide which movie suits better their night mood.

Firstly, I believe that delivering money to the weakest industries is the right path to reach the goal of preserving them. As secondary characters in that field, they need a strong economic base to build movies on. This will allow them to be competitive with other realities, as they can start from the same line and use equal resources in the process of developing a movie. For example, a movie with scenography made by professionists has a more powerful visual impact than another with no scenography at all, or something homemade.

However, actions made by governments are not enough to fill the gap between these two types of actors in the film industry. Power is in people’s hands: they watch the movie they are catched by, as they don’t care about who produced it. I think that the public opinion of this type of art is not based on the names connected to it. Due to this fact, it should be more convenient for governments to invest, not only in the production phase, but also in the communication with the public. For instance, the effects that a movie has on the audience is mostly influenced by the advertising choices made by the industry.

To sum up, I think that the balance has to be found, but everyone pulls the rope in their direction and, even if the US film industry has an authentic and strong influence, the governments’ duty is going to reinforce their own film industries and make them leaders of the sector in the near future.