You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, the participation of women in any field is increasing. Some people think that universities or colleges should make criteria for an equal number of male and female numbers in any course while others think that admission in a particular subject should be mainly based on merit. This has remained topic of debate for many years. I do not agree with the given statement. Let us understand the argument of my disagreement.

Firstly, women’s empowerment should be encouraged and supported. However, equal number of seats for courses in institutions do not justify the actual meaning of women’s empowerment. In this modern world, females are giving tough competition in the area of field where men workforce is dominated. But everything should be based on merit and qualifications. Universities should make unbiased and merit-based rules regarding admission in any specific course which is equally applicable for both male and female. Rules should be based on past academic achievements and intelligence of the individual. This rules will help to admit the students who deserve to be there. Based on said rules, male or female numbers might be equal for the subject or there may be huge gap in the number of male and female students. Nevertheless, it is fair criteria to give an appropriate and equal opportunity for the applicants who want to study further.

While others believes that there should be equal number of reserved seats for girls and boys and my argument does not hold and undermine the given position. Because, in case of equal seats for both male and female, during the admission time, some seats from male or female might remain vacant due to less application of students. For instance, being a male candidate, his vacant seat would have created opportunity for him who was not able to apply in girls quota due to reserved equal seats.

All in one, it can be said that, for better encouragement and development of education system, there should be fair and unbiased equal chances for the applicants in any subject.