You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

In today’s world, there is an ongoing problem of overuse of vehicles that are affecting both the environment and public health. Britain is one of those nations which are suffering. In my opinion, the use of vehicles should be decreased. They create many problems which humanity is facing harshly; for instance, air pollution and mental health problems. By promoting alternatives such as eco-friendly vehicles and the use of public transportation can potentially benefit the world.

While cars are becoming more popular, the environment is becoming worse. The use of vehicles emits pollution to the atmosphere, resulting in affecting our biodiversity and people’s health. In addition, overuse of cars could potentially lead to human’s health problems, for example, stress from traffic congestion. It is a waste of time and fuel that should be considered to use alternatives to cope such problems.

This issue can be addressed with alternative solutions such as increasing the use of public transportations. Buses and trains could be further added for the convenience of citizen’s access. This could lead to the fewer use of cars and traffic jams. Another solution is to promote laws about the use of eco-friendly vehicles. Government could regulate laws to increase the use of electric cars such as reducing the cost of car’s electricity and raising the price of fuel. By using this method, less emissions will be generated to the environment, while personal private time in a car will not be ruined.

In conclusion, vehicle use should be minimised as they contribute to many drawbacks. I agree with the statement that we should find alternative transportation options to combat the issue. Public transportation and eco-friendly vehicles should be promoted to decrease air pollution and mental health problems in which the environment and people are experiencing.