You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

Over the last 136 years, the number of cars on British roads have leapt from single digits to seven figures. As a result, there is quite a universal view that the international authority should push towards alternative forms of transport as well as legally restrain its ownership and use; And I, personally, express complete support of this perspective.

First and foremost, this is the era of global warming and climate change. The threat of melting polar ice caps and submerging nations are so severe that virtually every nation has signed resolutions such as the Paris Agreement, SDGs etc. However, with automobiles being one of, if not the single most largest contributor to CO2 emission, the problem is only shifting to a more detrimental path. Curbing their usage forcibly prevents the release of greenhouse gasses and consequentially, can help reduce worldwide temperatures in the near future.

Moreover, car costs are over the roof. Combining the initial purchase and subsequent fuel costs result in their lifetime expenses ranging from hundreds of thousands to billions of dollars, depending upon the model of vehicle. Considering that the UK is facing inflation, these expenses only increase aggregate demand, further incentivizing demand-pull inflation, pushing up the prices of basic goods. Although the ones with wealth may be able to combat such a rise, it pressurizes those on limited income, widening the national income inequality.

Lastly, the dynamic of car production and ownership morphs into a wastage of resources. If we take the current scenario into account, some people have 20+ cars whereas others do not have any. However, if you can use only one at a time, what is the point of the other nineteen? These simply remain idle which undermines the technology and labor invested into them. Legal restrictions on proprietorship can reduce demand for these vehicles, hindering the treatment of capital and workers as scrap.

In conclusion, the present magnitude of cars in Britain not only affects the average person from a financial standpoint but essentially acts as a catalyst to global flooding. Hence, it is imperative that effective measures are implemented to regulate car ownership and use.