You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

It is occasionally argued that whether governments should encourage more auxuliary means of transportation and legislate relative laws to restrict people from buying cars due to the surge in the number of vehicles. In my view, I agree with this notion to some extent. I believe the government should promote the use of public transport, while not to impose rigorous regulations to the society.

On the one hand, encouraging citizens to use public transportation might bring several benefits to both society and individuals. Firstly, the widespread use of private cars are significantly polluting the environment , leading to global warmming and extinction of wildlife. For example, cars discharge a large amount of carbon dioxide, which is also known as the most profound greenhouse gas, reducing human’s reliance on cars could help to mitigate global warmming and protect nature. Secondly, promoting the use of bicycles and walking is beneficial to civillians, improving their overall well-being. Research shows doing regular exercises daily could reduce the risk of amnesia and obesity.

On the other hand, it might pose negative effects if the government legislate relative laws. Each individual should have the autonomy to decide what to buy without too many restrictions, if the government levies heavy taxes or prohibits citizens from buying new cars, it might provoke people’s anger, which could leads to more serious social problems, such as, demonstration, walkout, and even toppling its regime. Moreover, detering residents to buy cars would also impact the automobile industry, it could stagnates local economy, especially for some area, which economy excessively relies on car production.

In conclusion, despite whether we should promote the use of alternative methods of transport and inact regulations to prevent people from owning cars has become heatly debated. I believe a balanced approach to encourage citizens to use other means of transportation, while not to make laws to restrict people, would be ideal.