You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some families think the best way to take care of their ageing parents is to care for them at home. Others believe that it is better for their parents to live in a special home for the elderly. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, it is argued whether families should provide the care their old parents need at home or put them in retiriment homes. From my perspective, ageing parents should live in a retirement home only in case of severe health problems and this decision should definitely be made taking the older parents wishes into consideration.

On the one hand, taking care of the older members of the family at home makes them feel appreciated and loved. They are able to spend time with their grandchildren and all their loved ones daily, which boosts happiness. Moreover, this could also prevent the emergence of negative emotions like loneliness and low self-assurance, which are very common in the elderly. They feel that they are incompetent, because they have a difficulty in completing simple everyday tasks due to their health problems. Thus, being close to their family instead of being sent in a nursing home will ensure that they do not feel that they are a burden to others and with the help they will receive from their loved ones they will be more confident in themselves.

On the other hand, if the older people in the family have illnesses that require special treatment, the retirement home is the only option, otherwise their health condition will deteriorate. It should also be noted that modern special homes for the elderly offer various amenities that elevate the accommodation. Not only do they have proper and high-end medical equipment and trained specialists, but they also provide a wide range of activities for those living in them, such as playing board games or take dancing lessons.

In coclusion, families should take the responsiblility of providing the needed care to the grandparents at home. However, if the ageing parents have severe health issues that need to be treated by doctors on a daily basis, they should better live in a special home where they will be able to restore their health. It is nonetheless important to take account of the grandparents feelings and not force them into going in a nursing home.