You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

While many people think it is a good investment to search for life on other planets, the majority think it is a waste of money. In my opinion, searching for more developed civilizations outside of our planet is a waste of government capital because there is no obvious return from it. Additionally, we have many problems that need to be fixed in our civilization, like famine, wars, and corrupted governments.

While finding another form of life on other planets could be the goal of many governments and individuals, it is incorrect to focus only on the future because there won’t be a future if we don’t fix the present. For instance, if we find another form of life on other planets, how would that benefit a society that is dying from hunger, wild animals, and wars between countries. In addition, how are we sure that this new form of life won’t turn against the human kind.

On the other hand, why don’t we focus our time and resources toward fixing some of the problems in our society, like world hunger, common deaths from wild animals, and corruption in some governments. For example, statistics have shown that deaths from sharks are becoming more common throughout the last couple of years.

In conclusion, while discovering other forms of life outside earth could be a great achievement for the human kind, it won’t benefit a society filled with problems. Therefore, I stand with the decision of focusing on fixing our planet before searching for life outside of it.