You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, number of crimes is increasing steadily. Whereas the reasons of this pattern are associated with flaws of living conditions and lack of education in countries, this problem can be addressed by the government through strengthening community regulations and strict enforcement.

One obvious explanation for rising crime levels is a low living standard in developing countries, an inequality of social groups in particular. As poverty and instability emerges in a society, the crime percentage may rise significantly. This is because poor residents may appear to try to approach a wealthy life by robbery, stealing, or committing other severe crimes. Besides that, lack of awareness and knowledge seems to affect individuals to break the law; insufficient education could possibly lead to unemployment, thereby causing people involved in illegal acts too. Due to the reasons mentioned, crime rates are likely to increase steadily further.

Mitigation of crime development can be potentially operated by the governments through strengthening laws and ensuring punishments for adverse crimes are harsh. As laws and rules in nations are strict, people may automatically more cautious and frightened of taking socially risky actions. In addition, once penalties towards criminals are negative and demanding, the number of law-breakers might appear to decrease. For instance, a new law regarding a more rigorous punishment for home violence has been introduced in specific Central Asian countries, which resulted much fewer cases of crimes. Therefore, it might be result-oriented to make legal departments more stringent.

In conclusion, the reasons of illegality in recent times are based on poor knowledge and societal instability. However, this problem has a potential to be mitigated by the governments becoming harsh towards people committing crimes.