You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many countries, governments and individuals spend too much money on national events such as New Year and religious festivals. To what extent to you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

In various countries, governments and people spend a significant amount of money on national events and festivals which some think is wasteful. I disagree because the money spent on these celebrations can boost the economy by attracting tourists and also allow citzens to spend quality time with their loved ones.

National celebrations funded by governments pay off through tourism revenue. Increased budgets allow the festivals to become larger in scale which raises popularity, attracting tourists. They spend money on hotels, transportation and other related activities held nearby, often recovering the expenses used to run them. For instance, the EXPO 2025 in Osaka brought many foreigners to Japan. The event regulary hosts fireworks and drone shows, which are both incredibly popular amongst tourists. The influx of people is enriching the economy of Osaka as tourists also spend time to travel to other parts of the prefecture. Therefore, the expenditure by visitors is recovering the money spent to run EXPO 2025, ultimately benefiting the surrounding areas too.

Additionally, many individuals consider national celebrations to be a good opportunity to visit their families. People, especially those who live far from home are more likely to use these national festivals as a good timing to visit home. After working constantly and having no time to spend with loved ones, national celebrations are a great opportunity to relax and sit down with families and friends. Although travelling back can cost a lot, it is worth the budget to feel the warmth of home. For example, many families who live outside of their home country go back during the New Years. People gather and spend their money on transportation, drinks and food so that they could spend a fulfilling and meaningful time together. The value of quality time can easily outweigh the large expenses that is required to do so.

In conclusion, I disagree that the governements and citzensoverspend on national celebrations as it brings economical benefits for the country or area through tourism and increases time spent with loved ones for individuals.