You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is a common belief that in recent times, the uses of smartphone among children have increased dramatically. Most of the children spend hours daily on their smartphones, raising concerns about its potential effects. This essay will demonstrate the reasons behind this trend and discuss its positive and negative development.

On the one hand, one primary reason children spend over periods on smartphones is the easy access to entertainment and educational content. For example, mobile applications, games and video-sharing platforms offers instant satisfaction, making highly connected. First and foremost, online learning has become more popular in this current era, especially after COVID-19 pandemic that increased excessive uses of smartphone. Another striking point is that nowadays parents’ busiest schedule also contributes, as smartphone serves often convenient babysitter, keeping children occupied when elders do their others responsibilities.

On the other hand, excessive use of smartphone such as educational apps and communication tools can have some significant drawbacks. More specifically, over screen time is linked to health issues like eye strain, weaken brain nerves and sleep disturbances, which may lead to incurable disease. In addition, constant use to digital media can affect children’s social skills, reducing face to face interaction, and may cause felling of isolation. For instance, appropriate using of phones can support learning and skill development. Educational games, language apps and access to global knowledge can enhance cognitive skills but it should be strictly monitoring by parents or elders.

In conclusion, it is clear that having valuable resources from smartphones, over period using of phones among children create social, health and educational challenges. However, I believe that educators and parents should promote balanced screen time to ensure benefit from technology without suffering its negative sites.