You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Healthcare should be a fundamental human right because everyone should be entitled to good health. While some people believe that the citizens or inhabitants of a country should pay for healthcare, I strongly believe that the government should be responsible for the costs of the health services offered to its citizens, and this essay outlines my reasons.

First and foremost, the government should pay for healthcare or medical care because its citizens are taxpayers. In so many developed countries, the citizens pay their taxes, and several deductions are made from their wages, which go to the government. I believe that this money being deducted can be put to good use, such as paying for the healthcare of each citizen. For example, the citizens of Canada get free healthcare because they pay their taxes, and the government uses that money to fund the healthcare system. This may be different in third-world countries, but for well-developed countries, it should be the government’s responsibility.

Furthermore, Healthcare is expensive enough to let the citizens pay for it. It is no news that the cost of healthcare is high, and with inflation going on, it is only going to get worse. Due to this factor, the government should be responsible for the medical care. Some people may argue that people will still be able to afford it regardless of inflation, but I beg to differ. Some people will not be able to afford it unless they have a good-paying job or come from a rich background; otherwise, it will be hard for people to pay for the costs. Also, the low-income population and even the homeless population will suffer more if they have to pay for the costs themselves.

In conclusion, everyone deserves adequate medical care regardless of their status, and the government is in the right position to help with this. Having adequate income and resources to pay for one’s medical care is good, however, the advantages of the government taking responsibility outweigh the drawbacks.