You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Crime rates are likely to decline due to the advancements in technology, which will help prevent and solve crimes in an easier way. Do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

Technology has significantly changed the social and cultural landscape of our society. There are devices so routine today, that a few decades ago could not even have been imagined. The advancements in technology have brought about a large number of changes. There are multiple fields that can be examined, but on this occasion, we will focus on the impact technology has had on crime rates.

One of the most significant effects of technology on crimes, is via CCTV cameras. CCTVs are being installed in all major public centers and hubs, along roads and in parks. With these, it becomes much easier to detect crimes. Cars that bypass red lights can be automatically detected, and their license plate numbers recorded, thus making it much easier to penalise the corresponding drivers. The faces of shoplifters in stores can be passed on to the police and checked against database records. Criminals trying to escape can be tracked via the CCTVs intalled along the roadsides, or via satellite imaging.

Technology has also had a major impact on the process of solving crimes. Blood samples of suspected criminals can be checked against national databases to identify them. Forensic science has also come a long way, it is much easier to figure out relevant information from corpses, to bring their attackers to justice.

However, with the benefits come the drawbacks. Crimes have also evolved from what they had been in the past. With the emergence of the internet and the digitalisation of multiple facilities, cyber crimes have become much more widespread. Many individuals face cyber bullying online, and the number of cyber scams have boomed. People have been cheated out of their monetary assets, and criminals are able to hack into private databases to access personal information.

Despite the drawbacks, in my opinion, overall, the advancements in technology have been a boon and not a bane to the prevention and solving of crimes.