You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Crime rates are likely to decline due to the advancements in technology, which will help prevent and solve crimes in an easier way. Do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

With the advancements in technology and generalization and globalization of the Internet, information can be accessed quicker and easier, which is effective to detect and track criminals and ilegal activities. However, new forms of crime, such as cybercrime, can adversely grow as technology advances. Hence, although it can eliminate some crime activities, I don’t agree that technology can successfully diminish crime rates.

It is true that due to the technology and Internet, pinpointing crimes events are easier. For example, thanks to computer and its substantial data storage, authorities can have quicker access and more comprehensive sources and information of a certain criminal activity. What’s more, if it is a comparably larger criminal case, it is likely that polices can arrest not just the major outlaws but also all the people related to the case, which can entirely eliminate the possibility of future continuation of the crime event.

Unfortunately, the easy access to information may have adverse effect. Criminals might take advantage of the Internet and commit crime via Internet. This might lead to more ambiguous evidence, for the evidence is not physical. For instance, a certain crime called money laundry can be completed using the Internet. This crime undergoes various process and people to turn illegally-accessed money from drug dealing, blackmailing etc. into legal income. In that past, due to limitations of transportation and communication, this kind of crime activity would be hard to operate. However, in today’s world, the convenience of networking, not just between countries but also between enterprise and people, make these kinds of crime to increase uncontrollably.

Hence, I believe that the use of technology advancements in doing crimes outgrows the use of it in solving crimes. To cope with this problem, cybersecurity and protection of data information are important and should be viewed as international issues to encourage countries to work together in attacking global crimes as the connection between countries get more intimate due to the technology.