You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic. "Fatherhood ought to be emphasised as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up." To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words. You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

The topic of whether in the importance of fatherhood in children upbringing should be valued as much as motherhood has been a heated debate. To a large extend, I agree with this motion.

Expecting mothers are not the only stakeholder in determining whether or to deliver the babies, expecting fathers also played an influential role during the process. A report from BBC interviewed pregnant women on significant factors that affect their decision in giving birth to the children. Over half of the interviewees mentioned that their partners’ attitude towards expectancy directly influence such decisions. Women also tended to believe that giving birth and raising children is a common responsibility that should be shared among partners. Signaling the importance of fatherhood.

Throughout the upbringing of children, the presence of a father figure is crucial, especially during puberty. According to a research in Harvard University, near 90% of teenage boys took reference from their fathers as they went through puberty. It is suggested that fatherhood provided a template for young boys to imitate as they fit into according gender roles. The research also pointed out that without such positive figures in youngsters’ life, they may turn to violent representation of males frequently shown on media. Leading to struggles in adapting to societies as grown men.

To conclude, based on the grounds that raising children is a common responsibility of both mothers and fathers. From the perspective of children, the presence of father figures also significantly affects their adaptation to the societies. I stand by a strong opinion that fatherhood is for parallel importance as motherhood.