You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A growing number of young adult nowadays are migrating from the countryside to live in the main city, and leaving their elderly to take care of the countryside. Although this trend could give some negative results to the social and economic context, I believe there are some positive results for some individuals.

On the one hand, migration to cities could help individuals to know more variety of technology and access to employment opportunities. In an urban environment, they have better internet access and public facilities with new and improved digital. This proves that this type of digitalisation can make life easier. People can go to other places easier with online transportation. Besides that, in the cities there are greater variety of jobs are available. From a more promising prospect, jobs including high-paying jobs are available in the cities.

Despite these benefits, migration to cities could bring drawbacks from depopulation and economic decline. These problems could affect the farmland because there will be no one to take care of it anymore. Therefore, this population could affect the food production and could decrease economic growth in the countryside. These could also affect the traditional market to be permanently closed.

To sum up, migration has both positive and negative effects; the people who move to the cities could find more promising job prospects, and their lives could probably be easier. But the people who were left behind in the village will face the challenge of economic decline. Therefore, the government should invest in making technological public facilities in the village and also provide more prominent jobs in the village. This could reduce migration to the cities and could solve the mass population in the cities.