You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Doy。u think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge O「 experience. Write at least 250 words.

Technology has found its way into every aspect of our lives, including the way we pay for things in shops. Following this trend, I believe we will not need to use cash in the future.

First of all, generations that have grown with technology, have become dependant on multiple devices to perform even the simplest tasks. Millennials and people from the y’ generation can be seen holding their phones at all times, which makes it easier for them to process payments with something they already have on their hands.

Moreover, as fashion is also playing a very important role in our society, being able to process payments with an electronic device as a card, is not only saving us time in counting cash, but also space when it comes to carrying thing. As a plus, it gets rid of the jinggling sound of coins in our bags. This can be seen on a day to day basis when both, men and women, are getting ready to go out. Taking only their phone, a couple of cards and their keys.

However, for some people this might not be functional as it brings extra charges on our accounts for using eftpos machines.

To conclude, even though there are both advocates and detractors for giving up using cash, I believe that our obsession with technology is a slippery slope that will eventually end on us giving up cash.