You work in a very big office. There is a popular and cheap restaurant in the building. The boss is thinking of removing the restaurant and replacing it with a childcare facility for the working parents in the office. You have been asked to respond to an opinion survey. Why do you prefer your choice? Explain the reasons for your choice. Option A: I think we should keep the restaurant. Option B: I think we should replace the restaurant with a childcare facility.

In my opinion, opening a childcare facility and replacing the restaurant is not a good idea.

First, the restaurant has been a go-to place of our employees not just to eat but to socialize as well. Our office is located in the center of a business park thus our breaktimes coincide with the other buildings employees, thus, making it hard for our employees to find cheap, healthy and accessible source of food.

Second, it may sound unfair for a single person like me to give up the place where I used to eat and chat with my friends for a childcare facility whom only the working parents will benefit. At the same time, opening the child care facility might become a reason for these employees to lose focus and try to check on their kids all the time.

Lastly, I have heard that the building beside ours has opened a childcare facility. Our working parents can enroll their kids here and the company can help subsidize the fee.

Overall, I will recommend to keep the restaurant.