Young people committing crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a debated argument around punishing young crime offenders in the same way as adults. I completely disagreement with this proposal as there are some effective measures could be done rather than punishing them. In this essay, some possible reasons why I oppose this practice and viable ways could be applied.

To commence with, it might be said that equal punishments for young and adult criminals should be applied in all situations. This is because there may be a difference between the motives towards crimes. For example, some children suffer from their dysfunctional families, which could be a motivating factor to escape their homes or follow their negative peers. Therefore, this could be countered differently than older offenders who are more mature and have clear intentions. Moreover, having the same punishment may worsen their behavior rather than treating them. Consequently, if both of them are treated equally, there can be more and more negative consequences.

Perhaps the most effective way to deal with young criminals is rehabilitation programs. This means that the reasons behind their criminal affairs should be firstly analyzed to reach the more effective measure. For instance, there may be deep societal roots or some mental problems or even severe cases such as poverty. Therefore, they should be sent to rehabilitation houses firstly then eliminate these motivating factors by establishment a standard of living or treating them well if they have a mental problem. By implementing such a practice, they will probably become more rounded healthy persons, who may be positively effective to their society later.

In conclusion, I am in complete agreement with inequality treatment of adult and younger criminals due to the difference behavior, maturity and motives behind them. Hence, I would recommend more viable means such as qualifying them properly to have more behaved persons.