Young people committing crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern society, young offenders should be punished the similar way as adults by the governments. In my opinion, I partly agree with this viewpoint and give relevant ideas about the issue.

On the one hand, young offenders should be received the same punishment as adults. Firstly, adolescents commiting serious crime such as murder must be punished severely to deter them from doing it. In addition, this will ensure justice for victims as well as the protection of citizens, creating equality for society. Additionally, punishing the young like adults, this may act as a deterrent for their peers who tend to commit a crime. If a teenager is tried as an adult in court, it can raise awareness about the serious consequences of criminal behavior, which may discourage others from engaging in such activities.

On the other hand, they should not be treated the similar way as adult criminals. Firstly, juveniles engaging in criminal activities can be affected by numerous factors, particularly from their parents as well as living conditions. In fact, many young people growing up in disadvantaged backgrounds such as poverty or being abused by their parents. As a results, they are lack of parental monitoring, which may contribute to their anti-social behaviour and involvement in unlawful action. Moreover, teenagers are less mature compared to adults, they can not fully understand the long-term consequences of their actions. Therefore, the authorities should send young offenders to reform schools and provide them with effective guidances, in order to help them recognize their mistakes and reintergrate into society as responsible citizens.

In conclusion, although I agree that young lawbreakers should be treated the same punishment like adults to ensure residents’ safety, I would argue that the government should help them learn from their criminal action instead of punishing harshly.