Young people committing crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that young delinquents should receive the same sentence as fully-grown ones. In my opinion, it would be wrong to enforce any inappropriate punishment on a minor, and treating them like adults would result in nothing but more criminal acts.

To begin with, young people are less mature with their manners. Unlike a mature man who decides wisely, the youth are not fully aware of the repercussions of their misdeeds and lack the competency level to comprehend all the rules and laws. Hence, imposing adult-level punishments would not give them a chance to change, and as a result, they continue to be criminals even after growing into adults. Furthermore, convictions have a significant impact on a teenager’s development. They may suffer from the indifference and discrimination of their surroundings, making reintegration into the community difficult. Plus, former young offenders will have difficulty finding a job in the future, which will adversely affect their whole lives and lead to their returning to the unlawful road.

As an alternative, I believe the government should prioritize the method of juvenile rehabilitation. Young people should be educated that what they do may have a significant influence on their lives and that they must always consider the consequences before acting. As a result, this will not only deter them from reoffending but also give them a better and brighter future.

In conclusion, younger children should be handled differently from adults and given the opportunity to learn from and reconsider their mistakes. Therefore, from my perspective, young offenders should not be treated the same as adults, but rather through a system that prioritizes rehabilitation while ensuring accountability.