Young people in the modern world seem to have more power and influence than any previous young generation. Why is this the case? What impact does this have on the relationship between old and young people?

In contemporary society, it appears that young individuals possess a degree of power and influence that surpasses that of previous generations. Several key factors contribute to this notable rise in the authority of today’s youth.

It is crucial to mention that the main cause is the coming of the digital age. Members of Generation Z were born “with smartphones and gadgets” in their hands. With the development and popularization of mass networks, social media started playing an increasingly important role in teens’ lives. Modern methods of communication are more effective and youngsters can easily influence and be influenced by various trends and celebrities, which are conveyed to them via the Internet. Additionally, now they have more unprecedented access to information. Young people today can learn about various subjects, cultures, and global issues at their fingertips (for example: Khan Academy, Coursera, etc.). They also can participate in global movements that address issues like climate change, social justice, and human rights. Various initiatives show how youth can come together to advocate for change on a worldwide scale.

All these factors definitely give them a wide range of opportunities, but it does not mean that everyone takes them into account, realizes their potential and influences global processes.

Undoubtedly, since the beginning of the digitalization era, the gap in understanding between the young and old generations has become wider. Technologies are indispensable parts of life in modern society and for many seniors it is quite difficult to become accustomed to such lifestyle. It means that now both generations can carry out an interchange and teenagers help their grandmothers, grandfathers and other older people to understand, for example, how to use the variety of gadgets and apps, which breaks down all the stereotypes that only people with a great background can teach others. For instance, there are a lot of young volunteer initiatives, such as “DOBRO.RU. Digital literacy,” which contribute to adapting and integrating elders into the modern world. Such cooperation enhances mutual understanding between generations.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that young people have more power and influence these days, as digital development has created a great number of opportunities. So, success and the level of influential power fully depend on boys’ and girls’ ambitions and goals.