Young people in the modern world seem to have more power and influence than any previous young generation. Why is this the case? What impact does this have on the relationship between old and young people?

It is sometimes asserted that young people these days are likely to be more influential than those in the past. This tendency can be driven by the rapid development of society. However, it may negatively affect the relationship between them owing to the generation gap.

To begin with, it is needless to say that the world is constantly evolving in an attempt to be a better place for people to live. Therefore, as time goes by, humans’ perceptions have undoubtedly altered to an extent. For example, we are living in a society which extremely appreciates the well-educated and the talented, not like the past when people seemed not to pay any attention to education but only money. Obviously, the young who reside in such a society may be required to always broaden their knowledge whenever they can, allowing them to be powerful individuals in their futures.

Nonetheless, I still contend that this transformation in society can strongly damage the links between the two separate generations, as they could not be able to understand each other clearly enough. In particular, each generation will have their own thoughts, own actions and own speeches, so the difference between these kinds of things would really deteriorate the relationship among the old and the young. For instance, the old can feel inferior to young people, for not being skillful or talented, or even being shamed for their lack of knowledge when compared to the young.

In conclusion, today’s young generation having more influence than the previous one can be attributed to the continuous evolution of modern society that leads to the change in people’s thoughts as well. Nevertheless, this trend could do harm to the relationship between generations as they may not empathise with each other.