Young people these days tend to be less polite and respectful than in the past. What are the causes and what can be done about this situation?

In recent years, politeness and respect among youngsters have decreased as compared to the past. This trend can be linked with various social changes but with some conscious efforts, it can be reversed as well.

One main reason behind this change in behaviour among young people is rise in virtual interaction. Youngsters often like to play games and interact on social media and they tend to talk with animation avatars rather than face-to-face conversations. Also, playing outside with friends has declined in these days. As a result, children often remain unaware of how to behave respectfully in real life.

In addition, modern family structure also contributes to this problem. Parents are busy in their working life and grandparents are not present in the family to teach manners and norms to children. Due to this, children often rely on influencers, who may not always promote appropriate behaviour. so, youngsters often grow up without understanding of the importance of social values.

To address this problem, parents and schools can co-operate with each other. For example, teachers can organize some drama activities on moral and ethical values as well as encourage children to engage in some community work so that they learn how to behave and become civilized person in society. At the same time, parents at home can strengthen these lessons by setting an example infront of children because children can learn easily from their parents. Also, parents should give rewards to their children when they behave well with elders people.

To sum up, no doubt this decline of respectful and polite behaviour in today’s generation is a concerning issue, but joint efforts of parents and schools can significantly help our upcoming generations become more mannered members of the society