Young people today spend too much money and time following fashion trends (clothing, technology). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the view that some young individuals nowadays have a tendency to keep track of various latest fashion trends by wasting their valuable money and time. From my perspective, I partly agree with this view for the following reasons.

On the one hand, it is reasonable that young customers are willing to pay a huge amount of money and time to chase after the new trends. Firstly, some beautiful clothes make adolescents become more confident about themselves and attract a lot of attention. For example, nowadays, people have the right to wear what they want, so young people express their own personality through the good-looking, gorgeous costumes. Therefore, they will be more confident when going out and being complimented by everyone for the impressive outfit. Secondly, knowing the improvement of technology helps the young broaden the scope of their intellect because they can update new techniques and apply them in reality. For example, spending time investigating computer software or electrical appliances will help teenagers open their knowledge about these devices and they can use what they learn about. We can not deny that investing time and money in new trends helps youngsters follow the changes of society and they can acquire advanced knowledge, information for their work in the future, so that they will become successful in business if they catch up with the latest life’s movements.

However, while some adolescents prioritize spending too much their priceless property just to keep up with the new fashion trends, there are many people who spend money and time for their future goals, such as: saving money for education, traveling or investing. As an example, instead of chasing after the trends, the students are willing to pay the money and valuable time that they have to invest in studying and researching, thereby they can achieve many good marks, get an excellent degree for their career path. Or, there are many people who do not follow new fashions, they focus on improving their mental, physical health and they are only ready to spend money buying the outfits that are really necessary.

In conclusion, although paying a significant amount of money and time for keeping track of recent developments in fashion brings lots of opportunities to be successful in the future, if we do not know how to control spending, we will have difficulties in certain stages of life. It is essential for us to learn how to save money and time, and just pay for essential things.