Young people who commit serious crime should receive the same punishment as adult offenders. Do you agree or disagree?Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Many think punishment policies should be applied to the youth as in the same way as adults are punished. Although this method brings about many positive effects, I strongly believe there are many serious consequences, including mental strains and the high probability of corruption, come from this system.

Proponents of this idea think this method offers many advantageous impacts. One rationale is that the same punishment strategies for both young people and adults may greatly aid in decreasing the rate of different crimes. This means that if adults are punished in harmful ways and they suffer from the environment of a jail, this, in turn, may encourage the youth not to complicit in the crimes of gangs or increase the awareness of bad influences coming from illegal acts. Another argument could be that this way of punishment does not require any other extra buildings for categorizing people based on their ages. In many country, criminals are often sent to different jails due to their age groups as there are specialized areas for both the young and adults. This, as a result, becomes the reason for the government to allocate space for other public zones, not for the prisons.

Even though there are many benefits coming from the same applience of punishment policies for youngsters and adults, it may also cause bad implausible results. One reason for this could be this system could have negative impacts on young people’s mental health. By watching how adults are punished, and being in the same situation as them, the youth may suffer from mental pressure as they are not as tolerate as adults, thereby struggling with pyschological breakdown.

The high possibility of corruption could be the another reason. In order not to be the next victim of a serious punishment system, young people along with their parents may offer some money to the government officials to cover their crimes, resulting in the commitment of another type of crime, namely corruption.

In conclusion, positive effects, such as a fall in a crime commitment and a space-saving side, should take into consideration while applying this trend, however, I completely disagree with this idea as its bad influences on young people’s psychological well-being, and potential results leading to the corruption.