Young people who commit serious crime should receive the same punishment as adult offenders. Do you agree or disagree?Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Some people believe that those who commit serious crimes should receive the same punishment as adult offenders. I strongly disagree with this viewpoint because it brings several significant issues to individuals and society. The reasons for this will be explained in this essay.

First of all, young people are still enhancing psychologically, meanwhile generally, they are just beginning to establish their behaviour. For instance, some young people still haven’t matured yet. In other words, they don’t yet have an adult mindset. In addition, young people around the world need to be directed towards schooling, not crime. Thus, in our world the crime rate will decrease as well as the number of educated people will increase.

On the other hand, imposing the same severe punishments on young offenders as adults can have negative consequences for society as a whole. When juveniles are treated like adult criminals, they are more likely to become isolated from society and continue engaging in illegal behaviour in the future. This phenomenon can increase reoffending rates rather than reduce crime. By contrast, focused on rehabilitation fines help young people reintegrate into society as responsible individuals. Therefore, society benefits from lower crime rates, a safer environment, and a productive future generation.

Finally, these approaches focus on correct behaviour rather than simply punishing it, which benefits both the individual and society as a whole by promoting rehabilitation, personal development and long-term social stability.

In conclusion, I severely disagree that those who commit serious crimes should receive the same punishment as adult offenders. Punishments ought to be adjusted according to age, with a greater focus on psychology and personal development.