Zoos are inhumane and should be abolished. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

The controvercy of keeping animals caged up for human viewing in places like Zoos is considered apolling to some people. I disagree with this statement, because animals have the right to be homed and looked after just as much as we would with our pets like dogs and cats at home. They also create job opportunities and provide theraputic and educational environment for children.

Animals do easily adapt to their natural habitat, but they also have the right to a proper home. First, the animals are studied for their preferred environment, next staff are trained to better approaches to help animals get comfortable. Then the animals are trained to understand their timing on eating, sleeping and activities just as humans do to maintain better health. Furthermore, these animals have full time caretakers to ensure they are well or need medical attendtion. Not only do animals get better treatment, they are earning a living.

Zoo’s has high potential to create job opportunities and provide a theraputic and educational place for children. Animals have to be well looked after inorder for public viewing. Eventhough people pay to enter these places, they buy food, viewing animals is still subjective to their wellness. An examples would be, when I took my son to Willowbank last year, we couldn’t view an animal that was feeling unwell, and we saw sympathy by the staff who explained the situation. This means that staff get attached to those animals just as we do with our children and we would want them to recover to enjoy their day. On the other hand, we also have parents that would treat their kids unfairly but they would still learn from their mistakes. This does not mean to destroy a home we live in. For this reason, it would be unfair to say that Zoo’s should be abolished . In adition, children learn and see these animals which can only be viewed on televisions.

To conclude, Zoo’s should not be considered inhumane as it is their home and they earn their living just as humans.