📝TASK 2: The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An increasingly popular belief is that today’s news media should cover more positive content. I absolutely agree with this statement as I believe it will help adults and the elderly be positive-minded about life and teach younger generations valuable lessons.

Modern news reports tend to be negative, showing updates about wars or disasters, and it disappoints the older generations. On the other hand, positive news and media covering different topics from charity to national holidays usually make people happier. As the older generations already experience enough stress, such relief, when they read a story about how charity funds helped build new homes for orphans, would make their days better. Even when people see videos of cats, for example, their stress hormone levels, like cortisol levels, tend to decrease, resulting in a better mood. It would allow adults to normalize their stress levels, and the elderly to avoid panic attacks that can be dangerous to them due to their age.

From another perspective, when young people see good stories, they usually become inspired to be better members of their societies. Good stories show positive examples to the younger generation and thus motivate them to act in a similar way, shaping their mindset to be reflective and empathetic. People who see positive stories will learn lessons they will apply in the future, when someone else will need their help. It is becoming more popular when teenagers from Kazakhstan organize their own charity funds to feed stray cats and dogs and find them new homes, which, as they report, was inspired by similar articles from the US. The more positive news will be available to read online, the more children’s and teenagers’ lives will be influenced for the better.

In conclusion, sharing more positive stories in today’s mass media will help the older generations be calm and the younger generation learn good lessons and be kinder, thus significantly affecting the world for the whole population. Hence, I strongly agree with this idea.