1. A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problems be reduced?

In countries all over the world, political leaders mostly prefer to develop urban areas rather rural. This essay will discuss the main problems that can be caused by this case and provide ideas for reducing them.

The main problem that appears because of benefitting cities rather than villages is overpopulation of the largest urban areas. More and more citizens of the rural areas are moving to larger cities to take a chance to find high-salary work. Traffic jams are the most noticeable consequence as the bigger number of people arriving, the faster the number of cars increase. This may also lead to the problem of air pollution in the megapolises due to the larger extraction of carbon emissions. Therefore, cities become places with uncomfortable living conditions, even though no one wants to work on rural farms or factories.

There are several ideas to tackle these problems and one of them is to develop the public transportation system. Setting more bus, tram or trolley stops and building more subway stations would decrease the number of cars drivers, in fact reducing the amount of traffic jams and dropping the level of the carbon footprint of each citizen. Moreover, constructing more bedroom communities provides more convenient city life as the population of the urban area would be distributed equally along the square. This type of housing permits the government to set the factories along the borders of the cities, so the workers would live in convenient areas.

All in all, a rise in the standard of benefitting cities rather than villages leads to problems of overpopulation, pollution, and decreasing the number of factory workers. Nevertheless, improvement of transportation and creating more bedroom communities give a chance to reduce these troubles.