1. A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problems be reduced?

It is an evident yet bitter fact that urban societies are more favorable to achieving benefits from the rising living standard in a country than the suburbs. This disparity has come a long way and raises another problem, yet several solutions are available to solve this case effectively.

The disproportion of the living standards for the cities and the rural areas caused massive rural-to-urban migration. In a country where the region’s development is still limited and the rarity of gaining a stable salary, dozens of adults may think of moving to a metropolitan area, which offers a better living. As a result, the villagers are only left with elders and unattended children, resulting in social inequalities, blocking continual development, and being vulnerable at any moment. Simultaneously, the impact of migrants to cities is enormous on urban infrastructure, leading to overpopulation and a competitive effect in job vacancies.

To solve these cases, there will be an extra effort from all sectors of society. The first one is that the government should perform revitalization for the suburbs through certain policies, such as promoting local tourism or cuisines, upgrading their public facilities, and giving financial incentives to maximize rural development. Then, socialization about rural living needs to be echoed through educational socialization, which highlights the unique social life and new opportunities that may be found in the village.

In summary, although the differences in living standards between urban and suburban areas cause significant obstacles, they can be solved through the concerted efforts of governments and individuals. By noting these issues collaboratively, a more sustainable distribution of resources and opportunities can be gained.