1. A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problems be reduced?

Nowadays, an increase in the living standards of a country mostly benefits the life in urban areas rather than rural. These developments are often associated with some problems in these areas. However, governments can take some steps to address these problems.

Many problems are expected to emerge due to the rise in the standards of living in a country. To begin with, people living in rural areas will start relocating to cities in the search of better education, job, and healthcare opportunities, since the development takes places at a faster pace compared to rural areas. This will eventually cause overpopulation issues in cities. Another problem connected to this is housing. In fact, a city has a limited capacity to accommodate people coming from all the other parts of the country in search of a better life.

This situation can be improved by taking the following steps. Firstly, governments should try to improve quality of life in rural areas too. They can do this by creating better job and education opportunities and improved healthcare facilities in those areas, which would encourage people to stay in their homeland, and eventually mitigate the problem with overpopulation in cities. Another solution would be offering some grants to people who reside and work in rural areas. To exemplify, in Uzbekistan, people staying in such areas get 25 – 30% concession on taxes, this helps the legal system of the country to control migration to cities.

In conclusion, in fact, people usually associate the changes in the standards of living of a nation with some problems for people in rural areas. The problems include limited facilities in terms of healthcare, education, and employment. The problems, however, can be tackled by taking the above-mentioned steps.